Looking for Recc for Camping for Niagara Falls area

Discussion in 'Trip Planning and Travel Concerns' started by JDdgo65, Jan 24, 2023.

1. JDdgo65

JDdgo65
    Expand Collapse

Hello,
    Since I’m new to this app and forum, I was not sure who to post question to? Reading thru some of the forums, it look like “Mike” you have been very helpful so I’m hoping you can help or maybe others will see this post and jump in. I did not see where I could just post a question to “everyone”?
    Planning a big trip from SW CO (home) to ME late summer. We want to go from Indianapolis (fam visit) up to Cleveland then to Niagara Falls area, then across NY state, MA into Portsmouth, NH then on up to various points in ME.
    I’m hoping for some guidance for stops along the way for Niagara Fall, NY; Watertown, NY, Finger Lakes, Lake George, and Saratoga Springs. We like to stop for a few days then venture out in our tow vehicle to visit the sites vs moving every couple of days. We also prefer to miss the big cities, if possible.
    So my first question… is there a good location to stay at near Niagara Falls (up to maybe a 1-1 1/2 hours away) without having to drive the rig (21’ Phaeton 40’) thru the heart of Buffalo? Possibly stay East of Buffalo?
    Second, any recommendations as to where to stay near Syracuse, NY to possibly visit Watertown, NY area and Finger Lakes?
    Any other suggestions for places to visit or stay on our tentative route is welcomed! Thank you in advance for any help given. Julie

2. NYDutch

NYDutch
    Expand Collapse

Welcome to the forum!