RV GPS necessary?

Discussion in 'Trip Planning and Travel Concerns' started by Fitzjohnfan, Aug 5, 2022.

1. Fitzjohnfan

Fitzjohnfan
    Expand Collapse

Hi folks, I've been driving class A motirhomes since 1997 and put quite a few miles on the rigs we've owned. our trip planning gennerally involves looking at our big old paper Rand Mcnally, and then verifying miles with the standard goolge maps gps on my phone. this has served us well for all these years.

we havent driven out east much, though, and i ocasionally see people swear by RV or trucker gps units to alert them to low clearances and other hazards. do you folks use one? has it saved you from having a mishap with a low bridge? i've always thought the driver and copilot could look out for low clearance signs while driving and adjust accordingly. am i assuming too much?

thanks,
    chris g.

mdcamping and Paythebill like this.
  2. Rollin Ollens

Rollin Ollens
    Expand Collapse

I have
    I have a Garmin RV660 in the Coach and a normal Garmin in the towed. I'm not sure if my butt has ever been saved from a low clearance issue but I have been misdirected to wrong places by both in the past. I do not rely on my GPS units 100% anymore. I try to verify my routes with Google earth first. My reliance on the GPS unit is to let them tell me when to turn and they both monitor speeds (I get a sound if I exceed the speed limit and a different note when speeds are about to change such as playgrounds or school zones.)

Darrell

mdcamping and Paythebill like this.
  3. mdcamping

mdcamping
    Expand Collapse
    Staff Member

Up to this year I was using the AAA maps and google maps gps for traveling the major Interstates and state roads. I would also research the local roads on google maps on my laptop or call the campground direct if the local directions were not clear.