Which "passport" Is It?

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by oldcutup, Oct 20, 2006.

1. oldcutup

oldcutup
    Expand Collapse

Which “Passport” is it?

My wife Cleo and I have been camping for over 30 years. We consider ourselves as Partical-fulltimers. We hit the road for the summer months. We have planned our travel and campground stays around the cheapest and best campgrounds along the way. I want to share with the folks on this forum what I have observed over the years.
    When we talk to the nice folks we meet in our travels we observe many campers don’t know the different discount clubs that are available to take advantage of. When I mention the clubs we take advantage of... We sometime get the “Deer in the headlights” look. I also read on this forum that there seems to be the same sort of confusion as to which is which???

After much research, we have settled for the following discount clubs...
    When we plan a trip we use a computer trip planner (Microsoft MapPoint, Delorme, Rand McNally, etc). We map out our route and go to the following campground books. We try to only travel 250/300 miles per day. If we like the campground and sites around we stay 2 to 5 days.
    We look for Corps of Engineering parks along the way first. There are at least 3 books you can buy the list all the CORP parks. There are also maps that show all the locations of parks.
    If you are 62 years old or older you can get a “Golden Age Passport “card. This card entitles you to ½ discounts on CORPS parks.

This is one “passport card”. Golden Age passport. It’s good in CORP parks, National Recreation areas and National Parks.

If we are in an area where there are no CORP parks we go to our “Passport America” book. This is a discount club that gives you a discount of ½ off the campground rate. (With restrictions)