Special License For Rv Drivers

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by fpullanosr, May 5, 2013.

1. HandyHank

HandyHank
    Expand Collapse

Having had a 'special license' for driving an 18-wheeler my wife and I have some heavy vehicle experience driving. Our CDL school lasted 6 weeks at 40 hours a week. I could see a 'special RVL (license) school pop up everywhere. Today's roads are still populated with bad truck drivers; however, they also include some of the best drivers on the road. Bad apple comes to mind. So schools and licenses don't solve the problem AND add to more government interference. Don't think we can fix the problem with more government.

2. Perfecto

Perfecto
    Expand Collapse

I feel that anyone pulling a large trailer or driving a motorhome should be licensed to do so. Too many people think that they can just go out and buy a pickup and fifth wheel or travel trailer and hit the road. Most of them are not aware of the many restrictions posed by many of the roads out there. Low clearances are a big one. Several years ago, a neighbor bought a camper for his pickup and took a trip with his wife and kids. He had never used one of these campers before. He went on a vacation with the family and on the way home he took a road that he was not familiar with. There was an overpass that was clearly marked but he did not pay attention. He hit it at forty miles and hour and ripped the whole top of the camper off. His youngest boy died on impact and his daughter will spend the rest of her life in a wheel chair. I think that had Mr. Curtis been trained to drive this type of vehicle, his kids may be living a different life today. People should be trained and even licensed to operate motorhomes and travel trailers/fifth wheels......

GA-RVers likes this.
  3. bankedtime

bankedtime
    Expand Collapse