Campgrounds in Michigan

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by mike50, Aug 17, 2004.

1. mike50

mike50
    Expand Collapse

Hi. I am a novice when it comes to rv campgrounds. I just bought an rv and am planning on going on a trip on Labor Day Weekend. I am leaning towards going to Michigan over Wisconsin after reading many of the reviews on this website. I am looking at many campgrounds near or on Lake Michigan becuase of the views, secenery, and rafting opportunities. I have been looking at places like Holland, Ludington, or Grand Rapids areas. If anyone has some suggestions or advice please let me know.

2. pixie-chick

pixie-chick
    Expand Collapse

Hey Mike,

We are from Michigan and boy! do we miss the camping there. Check out the website for Ludington State Park. It has been awhile since we have been there, hence I don't remember a lot of details other than it is gorgeous. I hear Grand Haven State park is well known for its huge beach, but we never went as reservations were required way in advance.

Before we moved away we had a book unlike anything I have been able to find since. It was a very detailed guide to the best Mighigan campgrounds. It even went so far as to sometimes give specifics about the best ( largest, most remote or most wooded) sites or areas at the campgrounds. It was very helpful and accurate.

If my recollection serves me right I believe it was something like thest best public campgrounds in Michigan by Jim Dufresne. Check it out, it might be useful to you.

Enjoy Michigan you lucky dog! And bring Deet or some other noxious substance because as you get far north, particularly the U.P., the black flies can be ferocious!

3. jimisham

jimisham
    Expand Collapse

If you're interested in a state park over Labor Day weekend, I'm sure they're all full. Reservations over holiday weekends need to be made 6 months in advance. You may be able to find something in a private campground. It should be a lot easier after Labor Day.