Can Anyone Make Sense Of This?

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by cannesdo, Mar 11, 2008.

1. cannesdo

cannesdo
    Expand Collapse

Hi All,

I've been full-timing for a year. I'm a 41 y.o. woman with an eBay business. I stay a month or two at every stop. I have a 36 ft. Alpenlite. Something happened this week that really left me baffled....

First let me say that I'm pretty much the "girl next door". Fit, clean-cut, conscientious, kind. I have a college degree. I've traveled a lot solo overseas and I've never had the kind of experience I had this week at a park in Arizona. This woman was really great on the phone, said she'd call me back after seeing what she could shuffle around to get me into a monthly space. And she did, saying there were two people who would likely be out by Monday (this was Friday). She said she'd tell the person there on Saturday that this was in the works and that they were going to try to get me into one of those spaces on sunday or Monday. I was flexible, grateful, complimentary....I asked if I could come down that afternoon as I was excited to see the place (I'd made my first mistake where parks were concerned and didn't feel safe where I was at.

I walked into the office and it was like I was talking to a whole new person. She was acting really strange. She told me she'd gotten calls, that the spaces were now taken and she stuttered and squirmed whenever I asked about other options (like the space on the hwy she admitted wasn't reserved until May). It was *clear*, a few minutes in, that she didn't want me there. She kept saying "Well, you never know, I might get a call at any time so I can't promise anything (I had to make sure I could get out of the place I was at, but only needed an hour or so to do that.) Man, what a crummy feeling. I've always been well-liked. I'd never experienced that kind of thing. Everyone on the road has been really great thus far and welcomed me with open arms.