Discriminating Policy By Saskatchewan Government

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by flugelboneman, Sep 5, 2010.

1. flugelboneman

flugelboneman
    Expand Collapse

Just a note to let people know that the Saskatchewan Provincial Government has levied a $6.00 per nite surcharge on all non resident campers in their Provincial Campgrounds. That includes non resident Canadians. Most of these campgrounds offer only electricity at the sites so now you pay $28.00 for electric only when Saskatchewan residents pay $22.00. I can't think of a quicker way to have their provincial campsites turned over exclusively to Saskatchewan citizens. So much for the welcoming nature of prairie folk. I am a Saskatchewan born Canadian resident living elsewhere in Canada. I will not be back to camp in my home province. :angry:

2. pianotuna

pianotuna
    Expand Collapse

Hi,

I think it stinks, too.

Are they saying that the fees at $22.00 don't cover the costs and that $6.00 comes from the taxpayer?

I prefer regional parks--I wonder if there is a "surcharge" on them too? Of course many of them have now shut down for the season.

3. DXSMac

DXSMac
    Expand Collapse

A small city park where I live charges less to "residents" of the city but more to "non-residents." But then again, it's a small city park. If you live there, you aren't likely to camp there.

On the other hand, a PROVINCIAL park (similar to a state park), well, that would definitely be a ripoff.

JJ

4. Florida Native

Florida Native
    Expand Collapse

The tourist also buy fuel, groceries, and use restaurants, stores and repair facilities. Sometimes the government officials can not see the forest for the trees. It would be wise for the business community to give them the facts. Looks like there are also private campgrounds there which will be able to pick up some of the slack.

5. Tom

Tom
    Expand Collapse