Dry Camping

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by caseysplace, Jan 29, 2008.

1. caseysplace

caseysplace
    Expand Collapse

I'm very new to the RV world and plan on leaving from Montana to Florida in March. Because I'm self contained I plan on cold camping for the entire trip at rest stops, truck stops etc. My question is, is this a safe thing to do or am I taking a chance. Also I've never towed my 36' this far, so it's like I'm entering the unknown. Any suggestions?

2. RLM

RLM
    Expand Collapse

QUOTE(Caseysplace @ Jan 29 2008, 08:44 AM) [snapback]10071[/snapback]

I'm very new to the RV world and plan on leaving from Montana to Florida in March. Because I'm self contained I plan on cold camping for the entire trip at rest stops, truck stops etc. My question is, is this a safe thing to do or am I taking a chance. Also I've never towed my 36' this far, so it's like I'm entering the unknown. Any suggestions?

First of all, MT is a truly great place to RV - that is in pleasant weather. Beautiful state. Lotsa Kodak moments there.

I make an assumption that you are boon docking (cold camping) just for an over night stay enroute to FL. If so, may I recommend that you pick a Wal-Mart parking lot or a full service truck stop like Flying J. For one, they are more secure than a rest stop and some states prohibit overnight parking in those. You will be pleasantly surprised to find that you won’t be the only RV parked at a truck stop or Wal-Mart. You won’t have to unhook the truck for an overnighter. Parking at Wal-Mart is perhaps a no brainer. Typically, there are restaurants within walking distance, and if not, you can get any number of ready to go late dinner meals there. Notwithstanding the sometimes tight fit at the pump, you can usually get diesel or gas at a Wal-Mart.

You might want to consider a regular commercial campground mixed in with the above choices. One night of full hook up service and cable is a nice break from boon docking.