Full-time Camping With Dogs

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by doggrrl, Aug 15, 2009.

1. doggrrl

doggrrl
    Expand Collapse

Hello, I am new to this site. Just wanted to get some information.
    My parents used to be fulltime RVers until they had to quit when my mother became ill. Now, 12 years later, my dad really wants to get back out there and camp fulltime in a travel trailer. I was recently laid off, so I am planning on travelling with him for a while--he's in his late 70's and I don't want him out there by himself. (Also it's something I've always wanted to do myself and it's the perfect opportunity!) The problem is that between us we have 5 dogs. They are all well-behaved, spayed, non-aggressive, etc. I am a former vet assistant and humane officer, so I am extremely conscientious about caring for my pets and not allowing them to bother others.
    My question is this: is it possible to find places to stay with that many pets? There is no question of "getting rid of" any of them--they're our family. We always pick up after them and would not leave them unattended for extended periods.
    I was also thinking of offering "pet-sitting services" to our fellow campers if the park didn't already have that service available. Do you think the other campers or park managers would be interested in this?
    Thanks for your input!

2. abbygolden

abbygolden
    Expand Collapse

QUOTE(doggrrl @ Aug 15 2009, 03:23 PM) [snapback]18341[/snapback]

Hello, I am new to this site. Just wanted to get some information.