Invertors

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by 06roadglide, Mar 7, 2010.

1. 06roadglide

06roadglide
    Expand Collapse

I am replacing my invertor in my RV. The unit recommended has a 30 amp AC transfer switch. I believe my 2 AC units pull 15 amp each. Am I limiting my ability to run both AC's as well as other electronics if I do no not choose a replacement unit with a 50 amp AC transfer switch? Side note: the recommended unit has 50 amp surge, but not sure if that is relavent?

2. pianotuna

pianotuna
    Expand Collapse

Hi 06roadglide,

How many watts are the air conditioners?

An air conditioner, when it is starting, may draw up to ten times the normal number of watts. I suspect that 30 amps is a constant load--and that surges may be 50% greater for up to an hour--and in some cases triple that number for 10 seconds.

What did the old inverter have?

I prefer units without automatic functions, so I have no direct experience with AC transfer switches.

There would be no harm in using a higher rating if that makes you feel more comfortable. It may be considerably harder on your pocket book to do so.

Good luck!

QUOTE(06roadglide @ Mar 7 2010, 01:09 PM) [snapback]21197[/snapback]

I am replacing my invertor in my RV. The unit recommended has a 30 amp AC transfer switch. I believe my 2 AC units pull 15 amp each. Am I limiting my ability to run both AC's as well as other electronics if I do no not choose a replacement unit with a 50 amp AC transfer switch? Side note: the recommended unit has 50 amp surge, but not sure if that is relavent?

3. John Blue

John Blue
    Expand Collapse