New Buyer Needs Help

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by Solo, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Solo

Solo
    Expand Collapse

I'm starting my search for an RV and would appreciate as much help as possible. I'm not a total novice but for ease assume I am. I plan to live in it year round. I'm looking for a class A or C toy hauler, used, under $100k. I want to be able to modify the living area easily. My questions: gas or diesel, brand, what to avoid as well as look for, must have features, minimum length, etc. Basically anything you can think of.

2. FosterImposters

FosterImposters
    Expand Collapse

Welcome to this site Solo!
    Give us some ideas as to how you plan to live and travel in your rig. For example, will you migrate with the seasons or with your vocation, to parks you already know well? Or will you do some exploring along the way?

If you already know your destinations and their amenities: strong reliable Wi-Fi, good cable TV, etc., then perhaps you can forego some of that technology in your traveling home.

We are still newby's compared to some on this forum, but am SO GLAD we invested in an Aircard (Verizon to accompany our cell phones). OMG you cannot believe how many folks complain about Wi-Fi reception when they post reviews. It's a non-issue for us. :rolleyes:

Second, we took the Directv box from our stick home and had it attached to the rig's dish, when we purchased. Eliminates angst when overnighting or when settling in for a couple days at a nice park. We just make sure there is a clear shot at the southern sky to receive a signal. No dissappointments with a park's lack of TV coverage for whatever reason.

Just those two pieces of technology (Aircard and DirecTV) give us mass freedom. Fire up the generator in the middle of an Iowa field, and we can access all the civilization we can handle!