Newbie Looking For Basic Info

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by CamperWendy8, Sep 27, 2006.

1. CamperWendy8

CamperWendy8
    Expand Collapse

Howdy all you happy Rvers! Let me just say that I think this site is awesome and I am so happy to have found it! Right on webmaster, good job! :)

So I am a newbie and I've been reading lots of forum threads trying to get a feel for things. I am finding though that I get lost on a lot of terminology! I thought when I was here last time I saw a link to a newbie crash course or something but I can't seem to find it now. Any suggestions for something to read that will help me get more familiar with the RV World? I'm sure there's a lot to learn but I've got to start somewhere, right?!

My husband and I recently purchased a Fleetwood Westlake pop-up trailer for us and the kids. We travel around Florida for mountain bike races half of the year. We also like to hit GA and NC for some great bike trails. In general we are very "outdoorsee" and we thought the camper would give us more freedom and comfort as opposed to trying to find hotels everywhere we wanted to go (not to mention some cost savings). We decided to start small and see how we liked it. I was just looking around the Fleetwood web site at the 5th wheels - those are so nice! I'm already contemplating our first upgrade :p