Recycling - Why Not Readily Available In Parks Or Campgrounds?

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by bumpkinsnana, Sep 14, 2008.

1. bumpkinsnana

bumpkinsnana
    Expand Collapse

I have been travelling in the state of Oregon for the past 3 months. The longest period of time I have stayed in a particular park or campground is one week. I have experienced little to no recycling available, and have been hauling my recycleables with me until I do find a location that accepts such materials as plastic, cans, bottles, etc. If I stay at a facility does not have recycling as an option, I encourage them to start a program, and I have been started to recycle info in my reviews.

Have other RVers found this to be a problem through out the states? Thanks.

2. Florida Native

Florida Native
    Expand Collapse

When you analysis the amount of fuel we burn and our “carbon footprint” for people who believe in that sort of thing, RVing is really out of the realm of making much difference in recycling. Think about the harm a plastic bottle in a landfill causes compared to hauling around 25,000 pounds getting 7 mpg and it puts it all in perspective.

3. wpr

wpr
    Expand Collapse

Hi bumpkinsnana,