Reservations A Year In Advance?

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by sillypup, Jul 1, 2007.

1. sillypup

sillypup
    Expand Collapse

Hi all,

I'm a newbie planning our maiden voyage sometime in the next couple of weeks. Or I *was* planning to go in the next couple of weeks might be more accurate...Every place I've called so far require that you make reservations months in advance at best, some said I'd have to make reservations a year and a half in advance! :( So what's one to do? This seems to make it impossible to have any kind of spontaneity when it comes to going camping, and for someone who doesn't know their schedule a year and a half in advance that means we'll either be camping in the driveway, or boondocking somewhere, which I'm not entirely comfortable with yet, since I've never done this before.
    Any suggestions from more experienced people? Do all of you really make reservations that far in advance? If not, where do you go camping? I'm in Northern California, and any suggestions would be welcome :)

Mia

2. Texasrvers

Texasrvers
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator

Hi sillypup,

There are a few factors that affect whether or not you need a reservation and if you can get one.

The area of the country is one factor. We have never RVed in northern CA, so I can not say if getting a reservation a year in advance is the norm for that area. I can say that we have never encountered that much advance notice anywhere else in the country. But there may be areas that are so in demand that it is required.

Another factor is the campground. You didn’t mention the names of any you had tried or if they were private, state, national, COE, or someone’s back 40. There are obviously places that are more popular than others, and this might require you to make a reservation, but for a year from now. Again we’ve never run into this.