Safe??

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by rv1, Aug 27, 2009.

1. rv1

rv1
    Expand Collapse

Is it safe to stay over night at rest stops or truck stops in an rv? We are going to florida in the spring dont know if I want to pay for a park to just sleep at we will be coming from ILL going to sarasota. I am a truck driver I know no one messes with the truckers we kinda watch each others back when sleeping or awake but dont know about the rv's not to hard to get in to them. So what you guys think rest stops and truck stops safe to sleep over night at.

2. danel-ksc

danel-ksc
    Expand Collapse

When we do have to layover night we have found rest stops don't appear to be the safest, beside most rest stops do not permit overnight stays in an RV. We do stay at Flying J since they have RV parking slots off to one side in the front of their facilities. We also stay at T/A and will use the CB to contact a trucker(s) already parked and let them know we are an RV and almost every time they will show me where I can park with the trucks that is safe and doesn't interfer with the truckers coming and going and won't lock me in with my tow. This approach seems to be appreciated since they are there trying to earn a living while I'm just trying to get a little rest.
    We have also layed over in Walmart parking lot. Although some local areas have stopped Walmart from allowing this practice there are still many that do. All they ask is for you to park at the lighted outskirt parking area so customer parking isn't impacted. There are usually other RVs and/or trucks to keep you company and most stores have night security that ride around the area. Doesn't hurt to spend a few dollars in the store.
    Mostly we use our Passport America membership and stay in a CG usually for about $20 or less for the night.
    Hope this helps a little with your plans.

3. rv1

rv1
    Expand Collapse

QUOTE(danel-ksc @ Aug 27 2009, 09:56 PM) [snapback]18643[/snapback]