Salt Springs Campground Question

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by Lindaosm, Jun 23, 2011.

1. Lindaosm

Lindaosm
    Expand Collapse

Hi, I am a newbie here to posting although I have been doing some reviewing over the last 9 months or so.

Hubby and I have been camping almost every other weekend now since mid April when we bought our 2004 24ft Skamper travel trailer. We have been trying to visit most of the FL state parks within a few hours of where we live (Ocala FL) since we both still work part time. We also prefer staying in North FL vs S FL as we moved about 10 years ago to get away from that area.

Now, here's my question.....I just found out that the Salt Springs campground actually does allow dogs even though the reserve america site does not show it. I called and was told that that had been a problem but they did allow dogs. It's one I had not considered at all because we always take our 12 year black lab.

I was wondering if anyone has been to this campground (the Federally owned one). I am looking for a spot that is pretty well shaded since we are having temps here in the high 90s. :blink: I've looked at the reviews and some say there is little shade in the lower numbered spots. One reviewer mentioned a particular spot that was good but I think she was more interested in making sure they could use their satellite. We could care less about the tv but really like some privacy and prefer shade. We did luck out when we went to Rainbow Springs a few weeks back as there was very little shade in most of those sites.

I think we want to make reservations for mid July and there are some openings.Any feedback would be appreciated.

Linda in Ocala/FL

2. John Blue

John Blue
    Expand Collapse