Solar Panels

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by jennd0718, Jul 16, 2007.

1. jennd0718

jennd0718
    Expand Collapse

Greetings everyone,

I am new to RV'ing and just recently purchased a tent trailer. I live in Northern CA and there are so many places to camp, but most of them are "dry." My battery is good for about a day and then I need to charge it back up.

In this area, we get sun just about every day from May to October and I'd really rather go solar than buy a generator.

Does any one have any insight or experience with trickle charge solar panels?

Thanks,
    Jenn

2. pianotuna

pianotuna
    Expand Collapse

Hi Jenn,

How many amp hours is your battery? If you wish to go solar a "trickle" charger isn't going to do much for you. The solar panel needs to be large enough to run *all* the drains from your camper--and have some juice left over for charging the battery so it can be used at night. A 100 watt panel might do the trick if you are very conservative about using lights at night. One of the biggest electrical "hogs" is lighting. I suggest looking at the new technology Sensibulb.

http://www.sailorssolutions.com/index.asp?...amp;Item=SEN10W

A regular incandescent 12 volt bulb draws 2 amps. The led's draw about 0.146 of one amp.

The other thing to do is to replace your existing battery with the two biggest meanest ones you can find (if they will fit). (Try Walmart).

Sadly generators are still far cheaper than solar panels.

QUOTE(jennd0718 @ Jul 16 2007, 06:33 PM) [snapback]7694[/snapback]

Greetings everyone,

I am new to RV'ing and just recently purchased a tent trailer. I live in Northern CA and there are so many places to camp, but most of them are "dry." My battery is good for about a day and then I need to charge it back up.

In this area, we get sun just about every day from May to October and I'd really rather go solar than buy a generator.

Does any one have any insight or experience with trickle charge solar panels?