Water Filters/softeners For Rvs

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by DeRenzy, Jul 17, 2009.

1. DeRenzy

DeRenzy
    Expand Collapse

Although new to this forum, my wife and I have been practicing the retirement life in our class A for nearly three years now. As we travel about we find more well water than treated city water and the iron and odor is sometimes unbearable (to say nothing of the hard water issues). We use an inline filter plus a four inch built in filter, neither of which do much for the iron and nothing for the hardness. There are plenty of systems claiming to be the cure all for water woes but do they really work? Are they a hassle? Are chemicals readily available? Is there a good reliable all-in-one system? We would like to hear about the good systems, the bad systems, and anything in between.

Thanks

Dan DeRenzy
    Illinois

2. bjma

bjma
    Expand Collapse

QUOTE(DeRenzy @ Jul 17 2009, 09:59 PM) [snapback]17576[/snapback]

Although new to this forum, my wife and I have been practicing the retirement life in our class A for nearly three years now. As we travel about we find more well water than treated city water and the iron and odor is sometimes unbearable (to say nothing of the hard water issues). We use an inline filter plus a four inch built in filter, neither of which do much for the iron and nothing for the hardness. There are plenty of systems claiming to be the cure all for water woes but do they really work? Are they a hassle? Are chemicals readily available? Is there a good reliable all-in-one system? We would like to hear about the good systems, the bad systems, and anything in between.

Thanks

Dan DeRenzy
    Illinois

I use a "whole house filter". The one that came with the motorhome broke. I have tried to buy the part to fix it, but no one had has one, so I went to Home Depot and bought a new one.

Home Depot has under the counter filters that have charcoal as well as the paper cartridges.

3. abbygolden