5th Wheel King Pin

Discussion in 'Towing, Vehicles, Maintenance and Repairs' started by OldSoldier, Apr 24, 2006.

1. OldSoldier

OldSoldier
    Expand Collapse

I am a real newbie here. Just returned from our weekend "Shakedown Cruise." I am getting some squeeking noise from the hitch and noticed the front of the king pin in now bare of previous black color. I know some friction is to be expected just don't know how much.

I have installed a teflon friction plate so that I can avoid greasing the top of the hitch.

Am I on the right track?

Thanks in advance.

2. Cheryl

Cheryl
    Expand Collapse

Welcome to the site, I'm sure you will get lots of answers soon.
    I, however, have a question completely off the subject. Would you mind telling me what kind of dog is that in your picture?

3. OldSoldier

OldSoldier
    Expand Collapse

An old, grey in the snout, Golden Retriever

4. Cheryl

Cheryl
    Expand Collapse

That's what I thought. Our new puppy looks a lot like him. Only hitch? Our puppy is supposed to be a yellow lab mix. Supposedly his mother is full yellow lab and daddy is full black lab. Not that we care, we love him anyway.

Attached Files:

5. Butch

Butch
    Expand Collapse

Welcome,

When we were pulling our 5th wheels, I did lightly grease the King Pin and the internal parts within the hitch. As we also used a teflon lube plate the saddle was not greased. You more than likely will have opinions from others wether to lube or not to lube, but in the end, it will be your choice, whatever works for you. Safe travels.

6. OldSoldier

OldSoldier
    Expand Collapse

Cheryl,

I am an old Golden Lover and have had Goldens for over 25 years. Based on the picture and the hair on your puppies ears, he's at least a GOLDEN mix. If he were primarily Lab the hair on his ears would be shorter. Good luck with him. Golden are lovely animals; intelligent, loving, friendly and affectionate. I envy you your future with this handsome guy.

Tate

7. Cheryl

Cheryl