How Much Does It Cost

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by benshoort, Jan 2, 2009.

1. benshoort

benshoort
    Expand Collapse

Hi I am very new to rv's; so new that I do not even own one yet but thinking very serious about it. I am wanting to purchase a new travel trailer to take with me next year for my job; my number one question is how much will it cost me to stay at a park or campground? I will be working in AL, GA, KY area. WOuld it be cheaper to maybe just stay in a hotel? Any help would be very very helpful in making my decision..thank you all for any input..

2. Starhikers

Starhikers
    Expand Collapse

It costs anywhere from 15-50 bucks most being in the 30's range. It may be cheaper if you stay at higher priced hotels. The really nice thing about taking your own rig, is that you get to take everything you want/need with you and don't have to lug it in and out of a hotel room. And you know it's cleanliness, which is important to me. You can fix meals and save eating out. I saved a ton of money this way. I have a motor home, so I don't know about TT's but it allows me to travel in my home which is very appealing. There is going to be maintenance involved though, and the extra gas to tow the vehicle, so be sure to figure that in. Good Luck!

3. Florida Native

Florida Native
    Expand Collapse

Being able to cook our own meals is a huge plus also. Staying in your own camper with your own stuff is better than living at the Ritz.

4. dancyn

dancyn
    Expand Collapse

The longer you stay in an RV park, the better your chances of reducing the costs. Most parks offer an extended stay rate for stays of 30 days or more. This can reduce your costs to $10 to $15 per day.

5. ftcjim

ftcjim
    Expand Collapse

Been there--done that.