Need Advice On Quiet, Efficient Generator

Discussion in 'Towing, Vehicles, Maintenance and Repairs' started by rvmamabel, Jun 8, 2010.

1. rvmamabel

rvmamabel
    Expand Collapse

Hi folks, Hoping to stay at some national parks this summer and Walmarts on occassion. Any advice you can share about generators? Is it worth the investment? We'll be on the road for seven weeks going from eastern NY to Yellowstone Nat'l Park and around the 4 corners there and back. I'd appreciate any recommendations on a quiet generator that we can purchase and also advice on how to fuel it, run it, etc. etc. Complete newbie with this area and appreciate your experiences and good thinking.

2. dog bone

dog bone
    Expand Collapse

I bought a Gentron about 5 yr's ago online for about $500. I haven't had a problem with it. It has a 30 amp rv plug, electric start and is fairly quiet. 68 decibels at 20 ft. It runs about 10 hours on a tank of gas, 5 gallons. If you run a bunch of stuff that will cut down on the run time.
    I don't need or use it that often, so I didn't want to pay a lot for a generator. Nascar and traveling, stuff like that.
    Honda and Yamaha make good generators. They both have a very good track record. All differant wattage's. The more stuff you turn on the more wattage you will need.
    Pick out one that suits you needs.
    Good luck on your trip and enjoy. Bob

3. rvmamabel

rvmamabel
    Expand Collapse

Hi there,